top of page

Interview with an Influence: Episode 5

Hello Everyone! We've had such a positive reaction with this interview series. We have been lucky enough to get in contact with a few instagram 'influencers', providing us with great insights into the business aspect of managing blogs, instagram pages, and some tips and tricks to get started! Keep reading on to learn from our fifth influencer, Vanessa!


A bit about Vanessa...


Vanessa is, in fact, a fellow University of Sydney student, who has utilised social media to allow her to complete her degree in law, whilst earning an income and following her passions in content creation! Her passion for styling and fashion has allowed her to create impressive and unique content, with her following at an impressive 18,000+. Vanessa isn't only on Instagram, but provides another unique insight into the world of youtube content with her styling, productivity and vlogs. Get to know a bit more about how Vanessa has found success in social media, and learn some tips on how you can develop your content further!


Some of Vanessa's content:

1. In your fashion and styling base content, why do you believe that people would prefer to follow you over someone with a larger following? 

I'm still astounded by the fact that people genuinely like the content that I put out. I don't believe that the accounts people follow are mutually exclusive. I'm sure that people follow me as well as those with a larger following. In the case people do prefer to follow me only, it may be because of my unique personal style or my tendency to engage more personally with my follows (instagram story Q+A's, replying to comments, getting to know my followers etc.).


2. What encouraged you to get started on instagram?

I started my Instagram as a personal account where I'd share photos of my life with my friends. Even though I've always loved fashion, I only started pursuing the fashion + style route late last year and have really enjoyed growing my personal style + brand. 


3. Do you work with brands? If so, how was your experience? 

All of the outfits that I share on my Instagram are from collaborations with different brands, on both paid and unpaid (gifting) bases. I've generally had extremely positive experiences working with most brands and agencies.


4. What would you recommend to someone who was just starting on instagram? 

Be you. Establish your own voice first.


5. What do you like the most of being an influencer? 

The word 'influencer' is almost daunting as I perceive it as holding a degree of responsibility to use my platform to spread a positive message to my followers. My favourite thing about part-time influencing is probably the community of other influencers/bloggers and followers that I have been able to be a part of. I have been able to voice my true opinions about life and its experiences, which have been accepted and supported by my online community. The sweet messages that I receive from some followers truly make my day and my pursuit of this pathway worth it! 


So... what can we take from Vanessa's great advice?


Be yourself, and people will come...

We've said it once, we'll say it 1000 times. Just as Vanessa said herself "I'm still astounded by the fact that people genuinely like the content that I put out". It can be difficult to put yourself out there initially, but there is a group of people for everyone! There will always be someone that finds interest, inspiration, and learns something from the content you create. Hence it's important to be uniquely yourself, not try to follow the trends or copy someone else's content style.


Get started now!

It doesn't have to be intentional, but producing content that you really enjoy, even if its for your friends, is a start! Just as Vanessa did, she saw quick growth in the last year but has long had interest and passion in fashion and style, but instagram has allowed her to really grow her personal style and brand.


Being an influencer is more than a job...

Joining the world of instagram and social media doesn't just mean a form of income and way to work under your own circumstances. But instead joining a community. A group of people with similar interests and passions, with a network of individuals that you can continue to gain inspiration from and learn from, just as we do with this series! Voicing her true opinions, Vanessa has found a group of people that accept her and this brings a whole new meaning to 'love your job and you never work a day in your life!' Interactions with the people that follow you brings you a different type of happiness that you need to experience for yourself first hand!


Thank you so much to Vanessa for taking the time to give us some incredible insights into the world of Instagram, and her experience as an 'influencer' working with brands and creating inspiring content!

Was this blog helpful? If you're interested in more of the interview series, click here to read our last interview and let us know who'd you like to hear about next in the comments!


23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page